September ’17 Recap and HalloweenWR TBR (Wow, that rhymes)

[Initiating Program CODENAME:Daan…
Loading… 25%…40%…57%…74%…93%…99%…
Begin.]

I’m SO not a creepy new prototype of AI made by the CIA and being tested on you right now. Ha. Ha ha. Haaaaaa001011010100010100101011101110001110101000101010111010

*politely acknowledges the clapping* I know. I’m so freaking hilarious even I can’t grasp it.

Here’s the thing; September was awful. Which is why I’m glad to be rid of it. Also why I vainly tried to improve your mood in the beginning before you see what’s next. *sigh* I won’t disappoint you AND bore you to death too, so I’ll just get started!

September Reads:

Song of the Current by Sara Tolcser: Review

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo: Review
They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera: Review
A Quiet Girl in a Noisy World by Debbie Tung: Review
A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro: Review

+ A rereading of Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi: Review


This Month on A Library Monster: Fav Posts

Classes Based on Books !
This might be my most popular post ever xD I share 5 Classes I’d love to take based on bookish characters ! Featuring Kaz Brekker, btw ❤

Hidden Gems in Fantasy
A few of the many underrated and buried gems in the Fantasy genre !

Flaming Leaves: Autumn in Books
Here is a 2-part post ALL about autumn ! Best fall releases of last year and a list of books that have a strong depiction of autumn, and so, make perfect fall reads !
Useful Bookish Tools I Use !
Tips for blocking noises while reading, app recs for saving quotes and more!
Books I Struggled With
I share 10 books I either DNFed, or wanted to throw in the Mariana Trench but still finished xD


Now, for the readathon ! It’s that time again ! My favorite time of the year when it comes to reading ! The time when all the spooky books come together as one and give their best shot at scaring the living daylights out of us !
I’ve gotta admit I’m adoring these banners which are courtesy of Lauren @Wonderlessreviews, the host of this readathon ! Here’s the Original Post! Without further ado let’s get started !

🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃

For this one I’m reading Escape from Asylum by Madeleine Roux. It’s a prequel to the Asylum series that I haven’t yet picked up, I don’t know why.

🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃

House of Furies by Madeleine Roux because what’s better for the Haunted House challenge than an actual haunted house ?

🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃
Unwind by Neil Shusterman is the perfect book for this challenge ! I mean, just look at those cutesy hands 😂

🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃

The Road by Corman McCarthy. Yeah. I still haven’t read this. It’s been on my TBR for months and I’m sick of telling myself I’ll eventually read it. So I’m picking it up !

🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃

Oh boy am I looking forward to this challenge xD I’ll be reading Bird Box by Josh Malerman.

🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃

I’ll be reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and Final Girls by Riley Sager !

🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃

That’s all you get of me today ! It’s, like, almost midnight and I’m SO gonna regret staying up this late tomorrow morning 😂

But I had fun putting everything together ! Are you participating in any readathons this month ? What are some of of your favorite spooky reads ? How many books did you read this month ?

23 thoughts on “September ’17 Recap and HalloweenWR TBR (Wow, that rhymes)

Add yours

  1. Oh I’ve been dying to read Song of the Current, Wonder Woman, and They Both Die at the End! I have them all except Song of the Current. I’ve heard so many great things about them 😀 And you have such fun bookish posts! Wish I had time to catch up with all of them, but I guess I’ll just have to read the ones you share with us this month 😉 I don’t usually do readathons, but I love Halloweentime and spooky things, so I might consider doing this! But you picked some really interesting reads! House of Furies isn’t my favorite, but I think it has so much potential. I want to read Asylum now and see what that’s all about. I read The Road back in high school and loved it. It’s not everybody’s cup of tea, but if you like darker themed books with a very bleak outlook and straightforward writing, then I think you might just love it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aziaaa 😀 !! *hug* You’ve been dying to read They Both Die at the End 😂 So much surviving in one statement XD Thank you *^*!! Most of these I’m reading by curiosity to what’s going on with people around them XD I hope you like Asylum if you read it ! I thought the second and third books were better than the first, but that’s how it is with so many other series too xD Middle book syndrome, I think it’s called xD
      Oh, I eat those dark books for lunch 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Daaan! *hugs* LOL, I didn’t even catch that pun XD My god, I’m so cheesy haha
        And that’s good to know that the series gets better after the first! I love it when series get stronger as they go along! 😀
        Oh hon, me too. They feed my soul. My pure, dark soul. XD LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, it is grand when the sequels take off with the series ! But I feel like it could make me less excited to start the series xD Also harder to reread the first books when a new installment is released ! *cough: throne of glass*
        Yay to the Creatures of the Night XD they should make a whole convention for creepy books, and it’d be called CONcon, as in, Creatures-Of-the-Night Con 😂 *cricket sounds* I’m THAT lame xD

        Liked by 1 person

      3. LOL. Can can would actually be perfect. The wonderful balance of happy and gothic makes for a great atmosphere. Not off-putting at all LOL XD As for the creepy music, I got you covered. We’ll throw on O’Death by Jen Titus (I highly recommend you listen to this song before, while, and after reading Scythe by Neal Shusterman. It’s PERFECT) and Night of the Wolf by Nox Arcana (or anything by Nox Arcana, tbh). Those are two of my favorite “the world is full of darkness…I am darkness” types of tracks LOL XD

        Liked by 1 person

      4. So much fun 😂😉
        And exactly like that. Or when you play “Tip Toe Through the Tulips” while an insidious demon lurks about. See what I did there? 😎 *shivers* or just all those creepy children in horror movies….

        Liked by 1 person

      5. *This is the ghost of Azia. She died after thinking of IT* But seriously though, I wanna see the movie. Why would I do this to myself? Who knows….WHO. KNOWS.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry September was so bad for you. I hope October will be better ♥

    So glad you’re joining in the readathon! I love your TBR! I read the first book in the Asylum series and really enjoyed it and want to continue. I LOVED BIRD BOX!!! I had mixed feelings about Gone Girl and Final Girls but will definitely be interested to see what you think if you get to them 🙂

    Like

    1. LAUREN!! *runs to you* I’m so glad you’re back 💙
      Thank you <33 ! I'll start with Bird Box first then 😍 I loved Asylum too ❤ The second and third book I liked more than the first, so I hope you love them too if you read them 😁 I've heard mixed reviews about both, so I want to see on what side I'll be xD

      Like

  3. I loved Gone Girl when I first read it because I managed to escape the hype so I hope you like it too! I know a lot of people expected more because it became so popular but still enjoyable and stabby, if you like that sort of thing xD Awesome TBR and wrap up, hope you’re having ana amazing October!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

DreamlandBookBlog

“A single dream is more powerful than a thousand realities.” - J.R.R. Tolkien

Casey Carlisle

musings, annecdotes, and excerpts...

bookowly

bookowly

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Bookish Nerd

Just a small place for reading books, book reviews, author interviews, giveaways and a lot more.

